Nation Wide Piano Competition Announcement

Steinway Galleries Australia are excited to announce a nationwide online piano competition! We invite pianists from all ages and music backgrounds to enter. Video entries will commence on the 1st of March and will remain open for a period of 2 months. Once entries have closed the public will have the opportunity to vote for their favourite performance.

The performance with the most votes will be awarded a $2000 cash prize and an offer to perform in both the Steinway Gallery Melbourne and Steinway Gallery Sydney showrooms. There will also be a runner up cash prize of $800 chosen by Management of Steinway Galleries Australia.

For further information and details on how to enter the competition, please click on the link below and we wish you the best of luck.


Chinese New Year Melbourne

Steinway Gallery Melbourne celebrated the Chinese New Year with a special performance by Emerson Hsu. Emerson treated us to a duet playing the violin while his teacher, Christine Luo,
accompanied him on the piano. Emerson then showcased his talents on the piano with a solo performance.

In the intermission, while enjoying refreshments, guests were delighted to see young Jenny play on one of our Boston grand pianos. Jenny was such a crowd favourite that she was invited to play on the Steinway D-274 at conclusion of the evening.

Steinway Showroom Perth Grand Opening

Steinway Showroom Perth hosted its Grand Opening this week featuring Mark O’Connor CEO, Exclusive Piano Group & Steinway Galleries Australia, Irina Vasilieva – Showroom Manager and Rob Cowell – National Institutional Sales Manager.

The evening was complemented with the unveiling of the Steinway Model D Concert Grand Piano, the first of its type available for public viewing in Western Australia. To showcase the unveiling of the Concert Grand, Concert Pianists – Irina Vasilieva, Debra Dowling and Australian Idol Finalist – Chris Murphy, performed a varied repertoire of music in conjunction with speeches from Mark O’Connor, Graham Hoskins, Rob Cowell, and Chris Murphy. Continue reading